Chatterbug’s Live Lesson ratings

The criteria to earn a certificate at Chatterbug is to see at least 50% of the exercises in a level and get a “pass” score on at least 75% of them. The 50% rule only applies to learners who start studying in the middle of the level, though, because they already have prior knowledge. All learners starting from the beginning of the level must complete all units of the level. But what exactly does 'complete' mean, and what is a pass score? And where can I see whether I passed or not? Well, that’s exactly why we’re here.

All of your learning achievements are accessible on the My Course page. Here you can see which units you completed, which ones you’re currently studying and which ones are still available for you to study.

Ongoing units will be in color while units that were added to your deck but you haven't started studying will be greyed out. Completed units that have been verified by your tutors, meaning units where all Live Lesson exercises, flashcards, readings, media activities and writing practices have been completed, will be labelled with a green check mark.

What about the single-exercise ratings?

Within each unit is an overview of your tutor's ratings for each Live Lesson exercise:

  • A green check mark means the exercise was verified by your tutor and you received a Pass. The minimum Pass score at Chatterbug is 75%.
  • The stars represent your tutor's exact rating of the exercise on a scale of 1 (the exercise was difficult for the student) to 5 (the student solved the exercise with flying colors).

On the Achievements page, you can also access your lesson recordings where you will find the average tutor rating for the entire lesson.

And what’s that emoji in my exercise review then?

The little emoji in the exercise review is your own rating of the exercise. At the end of each Live Lesson activity, we ask you to rate your own performance. The sad emojis stands for "the exercise was too difficult" and should be reviewed. The smiling emojis mean that you found the exercise easy and were able to solve it.

How did we do?

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)